Let’s Make Neverland a Possibility, Part 1

“Here we go, off to Neverland!”  A snow day means there is a lot of snow outside.  So much snow, that it also means there is no school inside.  So my sisters and I spent the afternoon outside with the snow, instead of inside at school.  We got out our wooden sleds and headed off for a day of fun, adventure, and…flying?  We started out at the top of the world and then ended up at the bottom of the world.  Actually it was just the bottom of the hill.  But.  It seemed more dramatic at the time.  I felt like Wendy from Peter Pan after he gives her some golden pixie dust and she flies for the first time.  There we were: arms in the air, and then…Whoosh!  Down the hill we went!  Gliding over the powdery snow that was nowhere near being wet enough to build a snowman.  But flying through the air…I mean sledding…was splendid enough fun for us.

The other “flying” activity that we participated in was making snow angels.  While the snow angels may have looked like they were flying, they were actually quite frozen.  Why?  Because it was cold outside.  And…for the more obvious reason…they weren’t real.  But it seemed as if we were flying as the angels took shape in the glistening snow.  After our fun in the snow was done, we flew out of the cold outdoors and into the warm indoors to enjoy cinnamon bread and cups of hot chocolate.  I expect us to repeat this course of action tomorrow, as school has already been canceled.  I challenge you to also go outside and enjoy a day of sledding in this wonderful, glittering world of white.  Let the falling snow be your pixie dust!

Think of all the joy you’ll know, when you sled down a hill of snow, and bid your arms to let go…you can fly, you can fly, you can fly, you can fly, YOU CAN FLY!

Originally written January 28, 2009 (minor adjustments made)

Author: randomness327

My name is Mallory, and I love words! Relient K frontman Matt Thiessen is my inspiration for writing tongue-in-cheek nonsense. Other hobbies I have are cooking, baking, photography, playing the piano, and reading. I collect tea cups and am a huge fan of Beauty and the Beast. Southern Indiana is my home. I work at an athletic club, where I enjoy group exercise and am learning to play tennis. I also have a cake decorating business called "Icing on the Cake." Thanks for checking out my blog! I hope you enjoy reading the words I put together.

Leave a Reply

