The Plight of the Musically Inclined

I love to play the piano.  I play the piano at our house with frequency.  But sometimes.  People at my house just don’t want me to play.  I walk into the living room and sit down.  I play two notes but then get shot down, which really puts a damper on my spirits.  Sometimes, I…ever so slowly…so as not to cause a commotion…walk into the living room and don’t even make it to the piano bench before I hear someone from the kitchen say the phrase in an annoyed tone, “No!  Not right now, Mal!”  So.  I get frustrated that I must refrain from playing.  And it makes me want to just run in there and hit the keys in anger.  Playing the piano is an outlet for my soul.  I have to let the melody within my heart come out, and I want it to strike a chord in someone else’s heart!  What’s so wrong with that?  It’s not like I’m singer who is too flat or too sharp.  My family should be thankful for the free entertainment!  But the root of the issue is that sometimes they’re afraid I’m going to disturb the dynamics of their day, and presto, we have this ongoing dissonance.  

I guess the key is to learn how to balance the tension if there is to be harmony in the home over this all important matter.  This can be accomplished by taking the opportunities as they present themselves at various intervals throughout the day.  My signature time to play is on a rainy morning or afternoon.  These times of day would probably be fine otherwise, but when it’s raining outside that means everyone is stuck inside, thereby making it not an ideal time to unleash the symphony.  Regardless of the weather, I have made a mental note that the evening is not a good time at all because it seems that people are in the rhythm of gathering then and there and therefore don’t want to have to talk over the sounds coming from the large musical instrument in the room.

Timing is everything.  So anytime people are not around, you can count on hearing the heart-wrenching sounds of my favorite songs coming from the west side of the house.  Except for the fact that you (and no one else for that matter!) will actually be there to hear it.  How can you measure the success of your talent when you only have an audience of one…and it’s yourself?  Such is the plight of all aspiring musicians…

Originally written on May 6, 2008 (many adjustments made)

Author: randomness327

My name is Mallory, and I love words! Relient K frontman Matt Thiessen is my inspiration for writing tongue-in-cheek nonsense. Other hobbies I have are cooking, baking, photography, playing the piano, and reading. I collect tea cups and am a huge fan of Beauty and the Beast. Southern Indiana is my home. I work at an athletic club, where I enjoy group exercise and am learning to play tennis. I also have a cake decorating business called "Icing on the Cake." Thanks for checking out my blog! I hope you enjoy reading the words I put together.

2 thoughts on “The Plight of the Musically Inclined”

Leave a Reply

