Which to Bury, Us or the Bear?

So I heard a story not too long ago, about someone who was being chased by a bear.  Now, if you were in harms way because of a bear, and you had a firearm in your possession, the thing to do…would be to shoot it.  Right?  Well, this person shot the bear…and it died.  And this person…was arrested!  For saving his own life!  Things didn’t turn out the way he thought they would at all!  The bear was supposedly an endangered species.  I’m sure the guy was probably thinking, “Hey!  I was an endangered person!  One of us had to go!”  He obviously didn’t want it to be himself.  “No, I don’t hate you, Mr. Bear, and I don’t wanna fight you…but you took this too far!”  You would think if you were being chased or attacked by a bear, who could tear you and make you a pair, that it would be okay to defend yourself.  Not so, say animal rights activists.  But I say, let’s just put them in his shoes and see if they still have the same opinion!

Now, if you had nothing with you but the bare necessities…no gun or other weapon of your choice…you could try to fight off the bear with your bare hands, and the crazy animal lovers would be okay with that scenario.  But, that would most likely not save your life.  Unless you have awesome bear fighting skills.  And I don’t personally know anyone who possesses such a rare talent.  So.  For the average person out there.  If you come in contact with an aggressive bear and you want to live…and you do have a gun handy…you may want to go ahead and pull the trigger.  But just be aware that while you would come out the victor, you could potentially spend some time in jail if people feel the bear is worth more than you.  Make your decision and don’t you dare think twice because you won’t have much time.  Just go with your instincts…along with my (bad?) advice.

All this talk about cares over bears…(ha! Care Bears!)…I could pull out my hair!  It’s so not fair!  What is wrong with us when we value a bear’s life over a human’s?!  I find it so upsetting!  Sorry, I’ll stop ranting and raving now.  Let’s bury the hatchet…and the bear!  Ha!

Originally written on August 12, 2008 (many adjustments made)

Author: randomness327

My name is Mallory, and I love words! Matt Thiessen is my inspiration for writing tongue-in-cheek nonsense. Other hobbies I have are cooking, decorating cakes, photography, playing the piano, and reading. I collect tea cups and am a huge fan of Beauty and the Beast. Southern Indiana is my home. I am a pastor’s wife and also work at an athletic club, where I enjoy group exercise and am learning to play tennis. Thanks for checking out my blog! I hope you enjoy reading the words I put together.

Leave a Reply

