Rain Glasses

One day, I was driving in my car, when I saw…a most unusual sight.  I saw a lady…riding her bike…in the rain…and she was wearing…goggles.  Now.  These were not swimming goggles.  They were big, clear goggles that covered half her face…the kind of goggles a scientist would wear.  It was as if she was in a chemistry lab.  Except for one thing.  She wasn’t.  So.  It brought me to a bi-polar conclusion.  She may have watched the weather forecast…or at least had witnessed the clouds fighting for control over the sky…and she didn’t want the potential rain to pelt her in the eyes.  So she found some mad-scientist-looking goggles and turned them into…rain glasses.  Now of course, people wear sunglasses all the time…absolutely necessary.  But rain glasses?  It just seemed a little…paranoid.  It wasn’t even raining that much.  A light drizzle, at most.  Consequently, maybe she really was a mad-scientist…

When I beheld this strange sight, it reminded me of a book based off the kid’s tv show Arthur, and Arthur’s sister D.W. has to get glasses.  The book shows pictures of her trying on all different types of glasses, and one pair has wipers over the lenses!  I thought it was pretty funny.  But.  I did a Google search of “rain glasses.”  And it turns out…they exist!  Wiper Glasses!  It’s a real thing!  Although…they didn’t get the best reviews on Amazon.  So…don’t get your hopes up just yet about going biking through the next torrential downpour.  Because you may find that in the middle of your commute, the wipers stop wiping.  Sorry if I just rained on your parade…or bike ride.

Originally written on September 13, 2008 (minor adjustments made)

Author: randomness327

My name is Mallory, and I love words! Matt Thiessen is my inspiration for writing tongue-in-cheek nonsense. Other hobbies I have are cooking, decorating cakes, photography, playing the piano, and reading. I collect tea cups and am a huge fan of Beauty and the Beast. Southern Indiana is my home. I am a pastor’s wife and also work at an athletic club, where I enjoy group exercise and am learning to play tennis. Thanks for checking out my blog! I hope you enjoy reading the words I put together.

Leave a Reply

