Over-Stuffed and Over-Priced

Walking down the streets of Marilla, New York with my family and our friends the Pollocks, I approached the General Store with much anticipation.  I knew I would find something to buy.  But.  I didn’t know what it would be.  After about 37 minutes of shopping…I finally found what I was looking for.  I had never seen anything like it.  It was…it was a giant…a giant…stuffed…penguin!  This was no cartoon-looking penguin: it was the most real-looking fake penguin I had ever seen.  Only having six dollars in cash on me, my spending capability was significantly limited.  With a heart full of hope, I reached for the price tag.  I knew that my expectations for this penguin to be under $6 were really pushing it.  Nevertheless, I…ever so slowly…turned the price tag over to reveal the truth that I wasn’t sure I wanted to uncover.

This was the defining moment of the stuffed penguin’s fate.  Slowly turning my eyes downward and barely able to breathe, I read the price.  Utter dismay!  I couldn’t believe my eyes.  The price tag!  It said…that the penguin cost the ridiculous amount…of $200.  $200, I tell you!!!  TWO Hundred Dollars!!!  Would you have paid that much?!?  Would you?!?  I wouldn’t.  I refused.  But I got my picture taken with him.  Because he was just too cool.  And because I wanted you to believe me.  Because I wouldn’t have believed you if you had told me that you had found a stuffed penguin selling for that much money.  Even if he was 3 ½ feet tall.

Originally written on April 6, 2008 (minor adjustments made)

Author: randomness327

My name is Mallory, and I love words! Matt Thiessen is my inspiration for writing tongue-in-cheek nonsense. Other hobbies I have are cooking, decorating cakes, photography, playing the piano, and reading. I collect tea cups and am a huge fan of Beauty and the Beast. Southern Indiana is my home. I am a pastor’s wife and also work at an athletic club, where I enjoy group exercise and am learning to play tennis. Thanks for checking out my blog! I hope you enjoy reading the words I put together.

Leave a Reply

