The Lost and Found World of Randomness!

“Randomness!” is on the loose!  I’m not sure where it went!  It seems I have been wandering aimlessly.  If you are new to this Wonderful World of Randomness!…greetings!  And if not…you have probably noticed that it has been YEARS since you’ve heard any of the thoughts swirling around the place my mind resides, known as Wonderland.  How ridiculous this is!  How absurd!  But!  I have had little time and few inspirations.  However, I realize that this is a poor excuse, and seeing as how I claim to be rich in words, I feel as if I have been robbing you of your “Canton Joy!” and laughter.  It’s like I’ve been searching for the lost city of Atlantis (only this is the lost world of “Randomness!”), and I am finally making my way back home.  I put “Randomness!” on a shelf when I should have been wracking my brain to come up with a story, or a poem, or a song, or a rap, or anything RANDOM!  I lost my focus, my inspiration, my motivation to be RANDOM with words!  I asked myself why.  Not getting an answer, I further questioned myself, “Where is the wit, the pun, the rhyme, and the fun?  Where is your heart, have you now come undone?”

This time I replied with a sad heavy sigh, “Words escaped me, and I let them go; Apathy and anguish I came to know.  Careless as the wind, I put up no fight; Like a scared lonely creature, I ran off in the night.  Lost in a world of no color or words; No sounds, no music, no singing of birds.  I wandered aimlessly, lost and alone; All the while dreaming of the day I’d come home.  But then all my wandering brought me back to my fate; “Randomness!” is in view; I can see over the gate!  My heart does a flip, oh, can this be true?!?  My eyes are filled with wonder anew!  The roses are red, and the grass is so green; The trees are in bloom, and the sun is shining.  The clouds are large and puffy and white; And snowflakes are falling from the ever blue sky!  The penguins are building a snowman so grand; And throwing snowballs at Matt Thiessen and the rest of the band.  Some reindeer are making some reindeer snow angels; And Relient K is singing many lovely Christmas carols.”

This is the place where seasons collide.  Ah, I’ve missed this place.  More than I realized.  Once I make it up the hill, I will be home, back where I belong.  After greeting the penguins, the Relient K band members, and everyone else who resides in Wonderland (they are ALL currently here having a fantastic time being random within the Wonderful World of Randomness!), I will be reviewing the Randomness! Rules, (as it has been awhile since I have read them) over a nice strawberry shake.  I will also be adding a clause to the Randomness! Rules, describing what to do in case “Randomness!” is ever on the loose again.  Then I will go and do some random exercises to build up my randomness strength.  And then I will be back in the randomness groove, and throwing out words like candy at a parade.  (Bring a sack and a lawn chair.)

Originally written on May 4, 2009 (minor adjustments made)

Author: randomness327

My name is Mallory, and I love words! Matt Thiessen is my inspiration for writing tongue-in-cheek nonsense. Other hobbies I have are cooking, decorating cakes, photography, playing the piano, and reading. I collect tea cups and am a huge fan of Beauty and the Beast. Southern Indiana is my home. I am a pastor’s wife and also work at an athletic club, where I enjoy group exercise and am learning to play tennis. Thanks for checking out my blog! I hope you enjoy reading the words I put together.

Leave a Reply

